Alexandra

Silly silly girl. I have mentioned you on here before! Just not by name. You’re the wedding that I’m going to that I have to be skinny for. That post is archived, hence the reason you probably didn’t see it.

For everyone else, Alexandra is an AWESOME girl. Our mom’s were pregnant together in Eugene, Oregon. We used to ride our tricycles around the neighborhood together and I would chant in a sing-songey voice, “Alexandra, my best friend, Alexandra, my best friend!” and she would chant, “Courtney Ellen Watermelon…”

I don’t believe I just put that name online. Only a few select people still call me that today. I’m probably going to regret that. Oh well.

Anyway. When I was 3, my family moved to Washington and Alexandra and I wrote each other long letters on Lisa Frank stationary. Lisa Frank was kick-ass. Look it up if you don’t know what I’m talking about. I think they still make it though it’s not nearly as plentiful as it used to be.

When my mom died 10 years ago it was hard on both of our families. I think her funeral was actually one of the last times Alexandra and I talked until… just this last fall! I wrote her out this HUGE letter that was many pages long and mailed it to her old address not even sure if she was going to get it and lo and behold- she did!

She wrote back almost immediately and now we’ve been exchanging emails and talking about her upcoming wedding that’s going to be absolutely fabulous and her dress is be-yoo-ti-ful!

I’m extremely grateful to be in contact with such a wonderful girl and to be able to call her a lifelong friend.

2 thoughts on “Alexandra

  1. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!

    LISA FRANK!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I used to love that stuff!! Holy cats…haven’t thought about that in forever!

  2. Courtney,
    i’m glad to see I made it onto your blog:) Wahoo!!! Just so you know…in my family you’re still referred to as “Courtney Ellen Watermelon”. Some things never change…hehehe.
    Love, Alexandra

Comments are closed.