For The Love Of Skunks

It all started years ago when I lived on my own for the very first time in my very first apartment. I had, of course, lived in the dorms of college for a year but people are always present and you’re hardly independent, what with a cafeteria, resident advisors, and other authority figures scattered all over the place.

My apartment was on the ground floor behind a school and my little patio let right out onto the soccer field. My best friend Jacquee came over to spend several weeks with me after a painful breakup and we’d often spend the evenings out on the patio, cigarettes and journals in hand.

One night we were out there when I noticed a small creature come wadding in our direction. I thought it was a cat and so I made appropriate come hither kitty noises. Until I realized it was no cat at all. It was a skunk.

I remained relatively calm (or frozen, I prefer calm) but Jacquee, well, Jacquee freaked out a little bit. She flew inside the apartment, circled several times (lit cigarette still in hand) and then eventually wound up in the bathroom where she threw the cigarette into the toilet before getting her wits together.

I tease her about it all the time. It’s to the point where you all have to say is, “Damn skunks,” and we both start laughing.

Well, Jacquee was up to visit me this past weekend. We were sitting outside of Marianne’s house about 3am, waiting for Marianne to come home when what should waddle by? Yup. Another blasted skunk.

Fortunately this time Jacquee had the presence of mind to remain calm. I guess I can’t tease her anymore.

Now that I’ve typed this all out, I don’t think this will be nearly that funny to anyone other than us. Oh well. I laugh.

9 thoughts on “For The Love Of Skunks

  1. Tell her that skunks like you to be afraid… otherwise they will send their smell… to make u afraid…. then tell her to attack it… sorry its late… would be funny though….

    BA~~4

  2. Was it a Pepe Le Peu type skunk?

    Once I saw what I thought was a cat under the car. It turned out to be a raccoon with very long claws. I ended up having to get a broom to shoo it away.

    I’m not sure if it was sick or if it was scared, but it didn’t want to move from under the car.

    I’ve heard recently that people are starting to see wolves in their backyards in the Chicago suburbs.

    Close encounters with wildlife are becoming more commonplace. I have deer that eat the apples from a tree in my backyard during the fall. Not too long ago, a deer wandered into O’Hare International Airport through an automatic door.

    Chris
    BA~~32

  3. I think Mr Lifecruiser is a skunk, he posted a picture of me in bikini in our blog, that he shouldn’t have done.

    Now I have declaired him war, that could leave a smell long after it’s over 😉

    BA~~90

  4. I can’t say I’ve ever seen a skunk. I think I’d be frozen to the spot like your friend was, for fear of being sprayed that yukky stinky skunky stuff.. lol

    BA~~29

  5. I saw a dead skunk on the road on my way to work this morning. Its fur was blowing in the breeze, it was sad and creepola at the same time.

  6. I saw my first skunk last year and it was beautiful! Oh, I know it would turn an awful colour had it sprayed me, but it didn’t and I still think their distinguished markings are beautiful!

    Raccoons? My bro and I used to make and feed them boiled eggs when we were kids. We used to love the way they’d peel the shells off with their little paws. Ah…good times.

    I have to admit, I feel great resentment towards people who destroy wildlife to build. Coquitlam is putting so many animals out of homes just to build those absolutely ugly homes on Westwood Plateau, etc. It’s disgusting!

  7. I love skunks….my parents used to have to drag me out of skunk cabbage all the time when I was a kid. I think I liked playing in it cause then no one else would come near me…!

Leave a Reply

