Writing From Boise

Hey guys! I’m in Boise! And I never thought I’d hear myself say this- but I absolutely love it here. So much that moving here has actually made it onto the list of options. But, Courtney, you might say. You’ve only been there one night! I know!

My parents live in a most amazing little apartment in a building that’s 100 years old plus. It has real hardwood floors that creak and huge windows that look out onto the capitol building- that was designed to look like the white house. It’s beautiful. The lobby of the building opens onto a sushi restaurant and their building shows Movies On The Wall every weekend night. They project movies onto a blank wall in the courtyard. Last night’s movie was one of the Harry Potter ones, but we went and saw The Da Vinci Code before grabbing some drinks with my parents.

Their apartment is on the main drag of Boise so everything is within walking distance. Excepting the ride home from the airport, we haven’t been in the car at all. I love it here. Love it love it love it and now it’s time to go get breakfast.

Be back Tuesday!

10 thoughts on “Writing From Boise

  1. What did you think of the Davinci Code? Michael and I saw it last night. I’ve read the book – Michael hasn’t.

    I love new places. I’d heard before we left WA that Idaho was the “new WA” and that people who were tired of the traffic and CA transplants were moving there. How’s the economy and job market? I wonder if Derek could get in on the whole immigration reform ticket. I bet your parents would say you’d been living with them for a couple of years… πŸ™‚

  2. That’s great, Courtney! It’s so fun to fall in love with a new city, isn’t it? Sigh. This post makes me want to travel. Right now.

    Enjoy the rest of your trip!

  3. Ellen- The Da Vinci Code was okay. The book was way better and it wasn’t a bad movie, but it wasn’t my favorite either. Tom Hanks was wrong for the part. I’ll email you more about Idaho, but the housing costs are ridiculously low compared to what I’m used to seeing and apparently the job market isn’t bad. The minimum wage is horribly low (I don’t remember the exact amount, but I want to say it’s still 5 something), but jobs are in abundance and if you have some skills you can make more.

    Toni- It was so neat. You’d love it. πŸ™‚

    Carly- Yes! I just felt completely at ease there. Like nothing was wrong with the world. I know that living there would be different, but I’ve never felt so comfortable in a place where I know virtually nobody.

    Toni- They have modern and old there and it’s just this amazing blend. Where’s Wellington? πŸ™‚

    Caryn- I was. πŸ™‚ I’ll be back in a few months if you’re going!

    Brian- Uh. Okay. πŸ™‚

    Megs- I’m home now! And I missed you, too!

Leave a Reply

