Obsession

I have a new obsession. It really shouldn’t surprise anyone because my love of books is far from secret, but LibraryThing has taken over my online life.

I spent the last two weeks cataloguing every single book that I own and let me tell you, I was terribly disappointed. I thought that I had SO many more books than I do! I guess that just means that I need to buy more. If you have books of mine that aren’t on the site, let me know because it means I’ve forgotten that I own them and if they are on the site and you’ve had them for over a year- uh, can I have them back now? Please?

I also realized that at least one book, one that I know purchased at least twice, is nowhere to be found. I bought Beauty by Sheri S. Tepper a looong time ago because I was in love with the cover. I lost it, so I purchased it again and now that second copy has gone missing as well.

At any rate, my profile is here. Go take a look, see what I have. I’ve rated the books that I’ve read and can remember enough about to rate. I’m working on writing reviews for the books I’ve read thus far this year. Maybe I’ll have you guys pick my next book to read. There’s a thought!

Let me know what you think and if you set up a catalog of your own, let me know so I can add you to my watch list. And have no fear, I’m around- I’m just playing with my books.

8 thoughts on “Obsession

  1. That’s funny!

    That site looks very, very cool. I’ve bookmarked it and will visit again when I have more time. Thanks for the tip.

  2. Crap. Now I’m just going to have to go create an account. Oh, and you know the funniest thing? I just found out I got a job I wanted: the librarian at our local high school. I suppose I can justify this by calling it practice…Right?

  3. It’s Moenkopi, but I haven’t added many books yet. I’m getting a laptop on Wednesday (YAY!!!! One good thing about turning 30!) so it will be easier to drag that sucker into my library (ha, ha. Really just a mass storage area that happens to contain stacks of my books in addition to sewing supplies, blank greeting cards, photos, and my husband’s clothes). Then I can really go to town with adding books.

  4. Caryn- Awesome, I will add you and I’ll be on the lookout for your adds. I’m finding myself wanting to buy up books like crazy (well, more than usual) so I can play with it more.

Comments are closed.