And So, My Fate Is Decided

I have been so nervous for the last two weeks that I’ve just about died. Good lord. This morning at work I was watching the clock and my hands were trembling so bad that I could barely type. Can you guess that I’m a nervous person? Heh.

Finally the time came, and I ducked out of work and made my way to the interview location. I walked into the room and was directed to sit in a chair on the side of the room where a bunch of people were already sitting. The room was huge, with rows of chairs in the middle and a judge’s bench at the front of the room. The chairs in the middle were all numbered.

We were then all directed to our assigned seats. Everyone was fidgeting and we were all visibly nervous. A lot of people had guests and there was one guy with a camera taking pictures of his wife/sister/loved one whatever she was at every stage of the game, it was adorable. He was so proud and grinning ear to ear.

At 1:00 a man comes in a suit and with this huge handlebar mustache. He was uber friendly and said we’d be called up by number. Our pictures would be examined to make sure they met requirements and we’d be asked a few questions. I panicked for a second and actually had to text message Derek to confirm who the PM was…. yes, that nervous and yes, that not into politics. (Sorry, Bex.)

Two and a half hours later, no kidding, it was finally my turn. My nerves had eased a lot and been replaced with impatience and boredom. I could overhear most of the conversations and I now knew the questions were ones like, “Have you ever been convinced of a crime in or outside of Canada?” (Which, by the way, no.)

I walked up, my pictures were perfect. Hideous, but perfect. My paperwork was in line, I had the right answers to the questions and off I walked with my confirmation of permanent residence. I get my card in the mail in the next six weeks.

I’m so relieved and so excited and I’m anxious for a celebration. Ohmygod. I’m a Canadian resident! Crazy!

**Please, please, please tell me if your comments aren’t going through. I found three or four of them that were flagged by my spam blocker… let me know and I can retrieve them!

8 thoughts on “And So, My Fate Is Decided

  1. Ô CANADA! TERRE DE NOS AIEUX
    TON FRONT EST CEINT DE FLEURONS GLOREUX
    CAR TON BRAS SAIT PORTER L’ÉPÉE
    IL SAIT PORTER LA CROIX
    TON HISTOIRE EST UNE ÉPOPÉE
    DES PLUS BRILLIANTS EXPLOITS
    ET TA VALEUR, DE FOI TREMPÉE
    PROTÉGERA NOS FOYERS ET NOS DROITS
    PROTÉGERA NOS FOYERS ET NOS DROITS

  2. Congratulations!! What great news! I’m so happy for you I’ll even forgive you for not being into politics! 😉

    I will have something for you next time we get together!

  3. Brian- I think that’s the Canadian national anthem? But I’m not a citizen. 😛 Just a resident. 🙂

    Bex- Thanks! No needs for gifts, but I love congrats. 🙂 You can try to get me into politics, but nothing has worked yet….

    Toni- Thanks!

  4. Hey Hey ! Congratulations!
    I see Brian gave you the ole O Canada en Francais.
    Now you can live in the land of pemeal bacon and Tim Horton’s Coffee forever if you wish!

    Welcome to the other side of The Leaf Eh!

Comments are closed.