Three Sisters, Two Cameras, Too Much Free Time

My trip to see my family was a good one. I really am lucky to adore my parents as I do and as far as sisters go, I have some good ones. We have our fights and Kim, my sister by birth, and I have some things we’re working out, but for the most part we have a lot of fun together.

We were a bit concerned that the drive down was going to be difficult and the night before we left there was talk of canceling the trip, but after an initial difficult patch just after the border, it cleared up and was smooth sailing for the remainder of the 7 hour drive.

My sister and I had entirely too much fun in the car. That’s what happens when you combine boredom, an old Spice Girls cd, and a video camera. Yeah. Wow.


Need I say more?

She didn’t believe me when I said I was going to post these on the internet. Too bad for her! We eventually arrived, tired, in Eugene just before midnight. We stayed up to chat with my parents, who had also just arrived, and my grandparents, whose house we were staying at before we had to call it quits and we went to bed.

The weekend had some extreme highs and some lows. The low, to get it out of the way, was seeing the condition my grandmother is in. She was forgetting things and confusing my sister and I. My sister walked in the door Friday night and recieved a hug and a kiss and a my-how’ve-you’ve grown from Grandma, then not even five minutes later, when Kim walked in again with another bag, she got the same treatment only Grandma called her by my name. Things like that happened all weekend and it makes me sad to see her deteriorate. Reminds me of all the reasons I never want to grow old.

The highlights outweighed the low- and really, it was only the one low. I got to spend a lot of time with my sisters. We had a blast on Saturday afternoon and between the two cameras we had we probably snapped well over a hundred pictures of us making funny faces and just laughing it up. Here are some of my favorites.

The best moment of the weekend, though, had to be seeing my old friends for the first time in something crazy like eleven years. Eleven years! That’s entirely too long. The backstory is this: my mother and Alexandra’s mother lived down the street from each other and became friends while Sarah, Alexanda’s mom, was newly pregnant and my mother was about to burst with me. (Alexandra and I are 4 months apart.)

Alex and I grew up playing together. We sang each other little songs and Alex coined the nickname that has stuck with me for 25 years. When I was 3, my family moved to Washington and Alex’s family stayed in Oregon, but we communicated via snail mail (we wrote on Lisa Frank stationary) and saw each other yearly, if not more.

When my mother passed away almost all communication stopped. I think we saw each other once a month or two after she passed and that was it. Then we moved and they moved and we lost all contact.

A few years ago I was going through my address book and saw an address for them. I wrote, and sure enough, it made it’s way to Alexandra and we were able to rekindle a tentative friendship. I was unable to make it to her wedding in September of 2005 and had been hoping to make a trip their way.

Finally, after eleven years- we got to have lunch and spend time together. Sarah was there and cried when she saw us (my sister and I) and almost had me in tears as well. It was wonderful. It was so so good to see them again and I hope it becomes a frequent thing.

The drive was smooth and uneventful. I even managed to polish off four books over the weekend. Look for reviews at the end of the month.

I’m glad to be home, but I had an amazing time and was reminded again, of how fortunate I am to have such a great family and equally wonderful friends.

You can see all the photos from the trip, even the bad ones, here.

2 thoughts on “Three Sisters, Two Cameras, Too Much Free Time

  1. Sounds like a really fantastic trip! I’m glad you had such a good time, and the photos tell the story pretty well too – hilarious!!

Comments are closed.