I Could Never Be Anorexic…

… but only because I like to eat so much.

It’s no big surprise that I love to eat. Just take a look at my awesome, rounded physique. So I was more than a little surprised when I couldn’t just pop out an easy five answers to great places to eat locally as Monkee requested. I mean really, who would have thought I’d have such a difficult time talking food that can be found in and around Vancouver, BC?

The first place that I thought of was this fabulous little burger joint on the waterfront in Vancouver. It’s in the Lonsdale Quay Market and for the life of me I can’t remember the name. I do know that the burgers there are seriously drool-worthy and nothing could make me happier than sitting outside, in the sun, eating one of the best hamburgers I’ve ever had. Yum.

I made it out for a friend’s birthday back in February and it was my first-time visit to this fabulous restaurant called Delilah’s. It was incredible. I can’t afford to go there on a regular basis, but I’d love to go back sometime soon. The martini I had was da bomb (yup, I said da bomb) and the food, oh god, the food. So, so good, including the blueberry cheesecake that I could have sworn tasted like chocolate, but apparently I’m completely ape-shit crazy.

If you want to keep it simple, inexpensive, and still manage to keep everybody happy, Boston Pizza is the way to go. Good food and a night-out kind of atmosphere combine for good times on the weekend. It makes for a pleasant Friday night with the gang before heading out to do dirty deeds or for a weekday meal with a friend to discuss all sorts of inappropriateness.

I’m cheating on my last two because I don’t want to keep naming off chain restaurants and I’m heading to a few places about an hour and two hours south respectively.

Just across the border and into downtown Bellingham is this cute little hole in the wall restaurant called The Wild Garlic. It’s so small, it only seats maybe 20 people, but mmm, the garlicky goodness is worth the cramped seating and the itty-bitty tables.

Last, but certainly not least, is my favorite place to go for hometown cooking. It’s small-town cafe at it’s very very best. Every time Derek and I make a trip down to see our good friends Jacquee and Toby, we make a point of going all together to The Acme Cafe. Yum, yum, yum. They make amazing breakfasts, delicious juicy burgers, and I’ve barely gotten into trying out the sandwiches, but I can tell you their club is oh-so tasty.

And with that I’ve realized that I need to explore a lot more of the small and different restaurants in my neighborhood. Think I can still stay on a diet and try that? Hmm….

Leave a Reply

