Hope

If it were not for hopes, the heart would break.
Thomas Fuller

An interesting thought- what would the world be without hope? Without hope there would be no 3 Day Walk, that’s for sure. Without hope, when your loved one is diagnosed with cancer, you’re out buying the casket. I don’t believe wholeheartedly in the power of the mind to heal, but I am convinced that your mindset is very influential and without faith that things will get better, you are only ensuring that your pessimism will win the day.

It doesn’t have to be that way and thank god, it’s not. I live with hope each and every day. I hope that I will lead a fulfilled life. I dream that my financial situation will turn itself around and I look forward to the beauty that I’m sure has to be in each and every day, even when sometimes that beauty is awfully hard to find.

I hope that one day we will find a cure for cancer. I hope that we can figure out what causes it and prevent it from ever occurring in the first place. I hope, therefore I fight.

Hope is passion for what is possible.
Soren Kierkegaard

3 thoughts on “Hope

  1. We will find a cure. That’s what this is all about! I have faith it will happen.

    What a great post. And to answer your question on my blog, no I don’t usually write fiction, this was my first official attempt. I played around writing a silly little nothing story in college and did a bit in high school but have not thought of doing it in years. However, ever since I started my blog people have asked why I don’t try writing things other than tales about my cats, etc. I thought the Blog-Off would be a great opportunity to try it out and get some feedback. So thank you for your kind words and support! And if I write anything I’ll be sure to send it your way. 🙂

  2. I love that first quote, Courtney…
    And I hope many of the things that you do, especially considering where two of my very close friends are right now. My “aunt” is going for surgery next week, and another wonderful lady (who is one of the strongest, most inspiring people I know), who has known me from childhood, is in hospital. And there’s nothing more they can really do for her. I hope it’s not too late for my aunt (there’s that word again) but only time will tell. But they’re fighters, both of them.

  3. Vegas- Well, you’re very good at it so I would definitely encourage doing more!

    Eternity- I liked that one, too. I’m so sorry to hear about your loved ones. I’ll make sure that I think healing thoughts for them as well. It certainly can’t hurt, right?

Leave a Reply

