Blog-Off 3.0

Yes, you read that right. I’m going for one final round for 2007. I’ve even set up a special page just for the blog-off. Pop on over and let me know what you think. I’ve copied the first post here and all updates will be posted both here and there.

I’m gearing up for the third and final blog-off for 2007. There will be more coming in 2008, but this is the last one for this year and I want it to be the biggest and the best yet! So far, in our two previous events, we’ve raised $285 towards fighting breast cancer and that is just incredible. How much can we raise total?

This third blog-off will be yet another mutation of the first and second versions- no fun in keeping things the same now is there? Here’s how it’s going to work.

*The blog-off will be short, but intense at just one week long with three posts being due. One on the Monday, one on Wednesday, and one on Friday.

*The entry fee is going up to $20 for this particular blog-off with half of the collected funds being donated to my 3 Day Walk fundraising requirements and the second half being awarded to the winner as the grand prize. The entry fee is paid to me via PayPal.

*A new option is being introduced. For a minimum $5 donation, you can have the option to vote on the posts without actually having to post yourself. The $5 is donated directly to my fundraising page. I just ask that you send me an email telling me how much you are donating right before you do it so that nobody can claim someone else’s donation as their own. If you don’t have a check or credit card (acceptable online donation methods) please contact me and I’ll have you send the funds via PayPal.

*If we have as many participants as last time, it will be too much to ask to have everybody read all 20-some-odd blogs and vote in the time frame that I’m looking at so you’ll only have to do that once. How? I will have eliminations in this version and the cuts will be big. After the first post, I will eliminate the lowest point-receiving half of bloggers. For example, if we have 20 bloggers posting, I will be eliminating the 10 who receive the lowest amount of votes. If we have an odd number, I’ll round down (so for 21 people, I would eliminate 10). After the second of three posts due, I will eliminate another half. (Following the first example there would be 10 people remaining so I would eliminate 5 of them.) The final group will be vying for the grand prize.

*Voting will be processed much the same as in the second blog-off. After reading all of the posts, you will send your favorite three to me via email and points will be assigned based on which order you place them in. First place will be given 15 points, second will be given 10 and third will be given 5 points. The winner will be determined by the highest cumulative total. (The second elimination will also be based on a combined total from both the first and second posts.)

*You have incentives to vote. I know sometimes getting the votes in is frustrating from having to pick a favorite and I also know that it’s time consuming to read all the posts. I want this to be worth your while. If you vote on all three posts you will be entered into a drawing for a $15 Amazon gift certificate. I will select a winner randomly once the blog-off has completed.

*Word selection is not going to be done by me this time. When you send in your entry information, please send me a word that you think would bring up some interesting blog posts. I will throw all the words into a hat and randomly select three to be used in the blog-off. Think of words with many different interpretations as nobody wants to read the same post twenty times over.

More information will be provided as we get closer to getting started. I would like this blog-off to run from August 13 to August 17 with a winner announced late on Monday August 20th.

If you’re interested in playing please email the following to courtney.slavin [@] gmail.com

Your name:
Your blog’s URL:
Your blog’s name:
Your email address:
Your word choice:

I hope to see lots of people sign up!

**Deadline to enter is August 9th.

2 thoughts on “Blog-Off 3.0

  1. Man! I just decide that I am all set to not do the last Blog_off even though I had a blast doing the second one and now you change it up and make it happen the day after I get back from my vacation so it would be possible to participate again! So now I have to think if I want to jump right in after returning from NY.

    I am very tempted…it is only a week and a great cause.

    Darn you making it difficult for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

