104 Book Project Wrap-Up

Well. I uh, didn’t quite meet my goal. In fact, I didn’t even match what I read in 2007! But that’s okay, I’ll forgive myself and I’ll try to do some reading catch-up in 2008. You know, before baby sucks all my time and energy. I say that with joy, by the way.

Here is the complete list of what I read in 2007 and here are some highlights from the year in books.

Favorite Three Fiction Books: I had to do three because I couldn’t choose. One was Veil Of Roses by Laura Fitzgerald. Another was The Queen’s Fool by Philippa Gregory and third was Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen. Two of the three were from my A-Z List, which is still uncompleted, but it only goes to show that good things come from recommendations!

Favorite New Author: New being new to me. Sara Gruen has become one of my new favorites. Water For Elephants was simply amazing and when I read a second book by her, Riding Lessons, and enjoyed it immensely as well, it secured her a position amongst my favorites.

Favorite Non-Fiction: Yet another recommendation, and a good one, was The Meaning Of Wife by Anne Kingston. This was a really great book about what it means to be female and married…. or not married. Very very good.

Sad Reading Moments: Terry Goodkind finished off his Sword Of Truth series and when I read Confessor, it was a bittersweet time. A great series, I was sad to see it end.

Best Reading Month: I rocked the house in January with my reading and I completed 12 books in that one month. Will this January be as successful?

I’m still trying to work out what I want my goal to be for 2008. I’m tempted to still go for the 104 and just push hard to get myself off the computer and into a good book more often, but I’m a little afraid that come baby and August, I will have little to no time to do much of anything, including reading. I suppose I could start now and see where I wind up? No harm, no foul? So be it. 104 Book Project: Take Two starts now. Happy reading!

5 thoughts on “104 Book Project Wrap-Up

  1. Fun idea for a post! I read Water for Elephants and enjoyed it, too. Actually, to be more honest, I listened to the audio version which was VERY well done. Two different readers for the two different ages of the protagonist.

  2. I cut my 2008 goal back to 52. I’ve read a handful of books in the two months since Claire was born, I’ll be lucky to read a handful in the next year. I need to checkout your list now… cause my TBR list is never long enough.

  3. Caryn- That makes me want to listen to the audio version. I really enjoyed the story. It was so different from all the other books that I read… a very unique story.

    Sherry- You’ve got two little ones! I can imagine that it’s difficult to find time to read! You are always welcome to peruse my lists to find recommendations or even to just send me an email and I’ll let you know what my booky-self has been up to lately.

  4. Now I have some new books to check out. I have also resolved to read more this year. I used to read so much and now I hardly read at all. I love reading and need to get back to it. I am going to make time this year.

Leave a Reply

