Baby Update

I have to admit that for the last few weeks I’ve been in denial. I’m not pregnant. I’m just tired, well, because. Just because. I’m not pregnant. My cycle is just… off. Way off. Really. Any day now…

I was booked for an ultrasound on Friday and part of me was scared that I would go in and they would laugh at me for thinking, even for a moment, that I was actually in the family way. But no. Instead they told me that my little peanut is 2 cm long, putting me at 9 weeks pregnant. And then they played me the baby’s little heartbeat. For being just 2 cm, that heartbeat was as strong and steady as my own and both Derek and I were transfixed.

I’m not in denial anymore. He or she is really there and due to join the world on the revised due date of August 16th. I can’t wait.

14 thoughts on “Baby Update

  1. The heartbeat is incredible, isn’t it? Enjoy every ultrasound and appointment — it’s a fascinating journey. Glad everything is going very well! (Make sure Derek hauls his ass along to all of them, too; from a guy’s perspective, it makes it much more fun and you feel like you know what’s going on.) YAY for baby Slavin! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Guess what? You are going to have a baby! Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am glad everything looked great for your check-up. I think I am going to be a mess of worries every time I have to go when I am pregnant. And that is the doctor I like the least!

  3. That’s when it me both times that I really was pregnant. It’s not gas or retaining water… there’s a baby in there! Are you going to find out what you’re having or let it be a surprise?

  4. Ultrasound makes it real. Hearing the heartbeat? Oh man. It’s thrilling. I’m so happy that everything is going well for you! Babies are such good fun.

    You’ll love getting the sonogram done and seeing your little one squirm and wriggle around in there. It’s amazing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Baby talk gets me psyched! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. I was in complete denial as well. I actually went to my doctor’s office to tell them I was dying of something (seriously…don’t laugh…I thought I had some strange disease that nobody had discovered yet…haha. Tony, on the other hand, kept repeating “I think you might be pregnant”. Which I ignored. And denied. And told him was just plain crazy). When they gave me a pregnancy test “just in case”, I was so shocked when they told me I was PREGNANT that I burst into tears. I think I was mostly just happy to find out that I wasn’t about to die a horrible death. Talk about denial.
    So that 1st ultrasound was a great wake-up call for me too. I think there is always a little lingering doubt, no matter what. But when you see that squiggly little bean (well…human actually…) in there, it gives you a BIG reality check, doesn’t it?
    Changing the subject…I agree with whoever said Derek should go to the check-ups with you. Tony came to all of mine (with the exception of one) and he said he loved going because it made him feel more part of the whole thing. So if he’s able to…I recommend him going with you! Plus, that way he can get to know your doctor, which can be helpful once that baby starts making its way out…!! Because (hopefully) your doctor will be there as your baby makes it’s big debut! So it’s nice to have someone there who you both know.
    So what do you think…boy or girl? Any feelings one way or the other? (Tony and I both felt like we were having a girl…and we did!)

  6. Nathan- It really was incredible. And no worries, Derek doesn’t want to miss a thing!

    dawnmarie- Totally not alone. I hate the word, too. In fact, I hate most of the words and phrases to do with being pregnant.

    Caryn- It has got to be one of the most amazing things in the world. Wow doesn’t even begin to cover it.

    Vegas- Oh, I am totally a bundle of nerves. I have bunches of stories already that aren’t blog appropriate that involve me panicking and convincing myself that I’ve killed my baby. It’s terrifying, really!

    Sherry- We’re going to find out. We’re too impatient to wait!

    Erin- I’m excited for that, too! There’s so much to look forward to. Nothing but good times ahead! Well, and labor. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Alex- Hehe! You’re adorable. I love that you thought you were dying. I knew what it was. I woke up a Monday morning and the first thought that popped into my head was, “I’m pregnant.” I took a test and it was negative (I actually think it was faulty because the control line didn’t show up or anything). I made it all the way until Friday before I tested again, but I knew… I just needed confirmation! That said, knowing hasn’t convinced me. If that makes any sense. I don’t have any feelings either way. I desperately want a girl which I think is hampering any innate ability to guess at sex. Derek is convinced it’s a boy, but I think that’s just because his family is all boys so he’s sure that’s all we’re ever going to have! Ack! I can’t wait to find out!

  7. Hearing the heartbeat and seeing the ultrasound were the highlights of pregnancy for me. Apart from finally getting to see what was causing all the tiredness and mad food cravings and God knows what else, thats when the reality sets in, that there’s a tiny little person on it’s way.

    Pregnancy is a thrilling time and I’m so happy for you!

  8. Megs- I know, that’s why I’m not getting all excited about any feelings I have. I’ll know when I know, right? I do notice I call baby he more than she, but who knows if that means anything.

    Princess Pointful- Thanks! It really is a wow wow wow moment. It’s so… surreal.

    Dawn- Yeah, I’m already anxious for my next ultrasound. I can’t wait to see baby moving around and a real shape take form. Thank you!

  9. See what happens when I leave the land of the internet for a few months, I miss things such as this. CONGRATS to you guys, SO SO SO excited for you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

