Diabetes & Me

I shouldn’t really be surprised that my test for gestational diabetes came back positive. A few years ago, right before I moved from Washington to Canada, I was told that I had Type 2 Diabetes. This was literally two weeks before I moved. When I moved, I lost all my health coverage. I saw a doctor in Canada and mentioned the diabetes, but they shrugged it off like it was nothing. Once I got coverage, when I saw a doctor, it was once again treated like no big thang. I went in for some routine bloodwork and it came back normal so I was told it was probably a misdiagnosis or that I simply had glucose intolerance and nobody really said much else to me.

I definitely take a large part of the blame because I was in complete and total denial. I didn’t want to deal with diabetes and pricking my finger a million times a day and eating a restrictive diet. I mean, c’mon, I’m the cupcake queen over here. No sugar?

When I found out that I was pregnant, my sugar levels were an immediate concern for me. I convinced my GP to add on a blood sugar test to the list of other test I had to do and sure enough, they came back a smidge high. He still didn’t seem concerned, but he decided to go ahead with the gestational diabetes test even though it was about 7 weeks earlier than it would normally be administered. Two days later I was called back in for a confirmation test. Two days later the diabetes clinic gave me a call and today I went in for a two hour class.

So yay for my new restrictive diet. Yay for pricking my finger four times a day. Yay for weekly appointments that I have to take time off of work for.

Forgive me for sounding bitter.

14 thoughts on “Diabetes & Me

  1. From the instruction we received when my wife was pregnant, gestational diabetes is sometimes linked to personal diabetes, but often it has nothing to do with it at all. We’ve known quite a few people who were severe diabetics while pregnant but perfectly fine when not. Some of them were already on the border, some were nowhere near. So, as far as I understand it, it doesn’t necessarily mean that YOU are diabetic, just that you happen to be while preggers.

    (IANAD — I Am Not A Doctor, so YMMV)

    Pregger hormones are some of the weirdest and craziest in the world, I tell ya. My wife normally has arthritis, but while carrying my son — nothing. Her joints got beautiful and healthy. But then again, she couldn’t stand the smell or taste of meat and really craved canned fruit. It’s nutty, I tell ya. Enjoy the oddities. My sympathies for having to go through all the crappy parts, though — good luck.

  2. It sucks, I know… but just think of it this way…

    At least you found out now instead of later, and you can help baby while helping yourself. Nathan is right, it doesn’t nessarily mean that you’re diabetic, it just means you gotta lay off the sugar. It’s hard, I know. But I’m here for ya!

    Love you and miss you lots.

  3. Oh, no. That really, really stinks. If it helps (and I know it doesn’t much) I’ve heard that once you cut back on sugar for a while it becomes far, far easier.

  4. Aw Courtney, I am so sorry. But think of it this way. At least now you know and can treat it. Not knowing may have furthered your condition to something even worse. Have they said how this may affect the baby?

  5. Hey Courtney! Well, diabetes sucks. But at least you know what you can do to make things better! I read an interview with Sherri Sheppherd (on The View) and she has Type 2 Diabetes. Someone asked her how she lost a bunch of weight recently and she replied, “Oh, it’s the ‘lose weight or they’ll cut your foot off’ diet”. I thought that was hilarious! So look on the bright side…nobody’s going to cut your foot off. Plus you will be a super healthy mommy by the time baby arrives. How great is that!? πŸ™‚

  6. Nathan – If I hadn’t been diagnosed early and if I hadn’t suspected it already, I’d probably think it wasn’t linked to my prior condition, but I read somewhere that if it’s diagnosed before 18 weeks (which is when mine was) that it often means there was diabetes before the pregnancy. But who knows. I’m trying to remain optimistic and am hoping it will all go away once the baby shows up.

    Megs – Yes, I’m glad that I know for sure. I suspected, but I was really concerned about it. Now I can make sure that I do the right things to keep both baby and myself safe.

    Caryn – The diet is very very similar to The South Beach diet which I had some success at a while back. I had done very good for 4 weeks and then when I let myself have a cheat night, I fell apart. So if I can just avoid cheats (and french fries- god I love french fries) then I’ll be okay. I hope.

    Toni – No worries, I know you’re busy! I’ll hear from you when I do and I expect to hear a lot once you’re back at home in the US!

    Queenie – Yeah, you chose yours. But no, just because you want to do something doesn’t make it easy. I’ve wanted to lose weight for years… have I been able to find the willpower to do it? Nah. But hey, maybe this is the motivation I need.

    Vegas – The main impacts of this on baby will be that my child will likely be larger (especially in the belly area) and I have a much much greater liklihood of having a C-Section scheduled. I’ll know more about that when it gets closer to my due date and they check on the size of the baby via ultrasound. If my condition is severe, then the baby might have to stay in the hospital on a glucose drip to wean it off the sugar its baby body has become accustomed to.

    Alexandra – Hey! Long time no talk. πŸ™‚ Yeah, this can only be good in the long run. I’ve lost 15 lbs so far (I know, crazy, right) and they want me to gain a pound a week from this point on so that means at the end I’ll only be 5 lbs over my starting weight! That can’t be all bad! And plus, you’re right, I’ll be used to the restrictions and maybe will be able to maintain them and be a hot skinny mama afterwards! This is me being positive. πŸ˜‰

  7. The losing weight thing sure is fun huh! I am now 17 lbs lighter than before I was pregnant (and all I’m doing is breastfeeding)… so it’s all good. You’re doing great.

  8. I know totally what you wanted to hear, another “I know someone…” story, but here’s one anyways. My sister had gestational diabetes, she only gained 10lbs (she’s slightly overweight to start with) and had a beautiful healthy baby. The end result is what matters. Hang in there!

  9. Wow, 15 lbs is a lot! Good for you. I am still trying to lose my baby weight…I’m about 5 lbs heavier than I was when I got pregnant, but I would like to lose more like 15 or 20. We’ll see if that ever happens :)Also, I was thinking about it and my mom told me that your mom also had gestational diabetes when she was pregnant with you & Kim. I wonder if there is a genetic propensity?

  10. Megs- Well, I was firmly lectured to about my losing weight at my last appointment with the diabetic doctor so, uhm, I apparently need to eat 20% more than what I have been. Of everything. Oy! Oh well, we’ll see how it goes.

    Sherry- It’s getting easier each day… or so I like to tell myself. πŸ™‚

    Alexandra- I had no idea! My dad never mentioned it! Of course, my dad is a little useless about remembering ANYTHING about our births and mom being pregnant. Maybe your mom should email me!

    Adrienne- And I see that you are, too! Neat! Thanks and congrats to you as well!

  11. Pingback: Five Second Dance Party » Blog Archive » Storage Solutions

Leave a Reply

