A Poor Substitute

I walked through the food court at the mall today where I had to run some errands on my lunch break and somehow manage to find a nutritious and diabetic-safe meal all at the same time. Let me tell you, when you are limited in the amount of carbs that you’re allowed to consume, finding food in the food court is not an easy task.

I settled on a crispy chicken salad from KFC and placed my order. I waited the obligatory few minutes while they supposedly prepared the salad (read: pulled from the fridge in the back).

Friendly KFC Worker: We’re out of croutons, do you want some extra dressing?

Me: Uhm. Okay. I guess?

Can someone please tell me how extra dressing is supposed to make up for the lack of croutons? Why even say anything? Am I the only one who finds this odd? And no, I don’t care about the lack of dried bread on my salad, I just am having a hard time figuring out how dressing makes a reasonable substitute.

6 thoughts on “A Poor Substitute

  1. No I agree. That is very odd. A breadstick, now that would be an acceptable substitute for missing croutons. Maybe even a biscut. But more dressing. As if the void in your salad needed to be filled with more liquid? Strange.

  2. I’m with you on that. It’s totally weird. Maybe they just figured they’d substitute one high-cal salad topping for another? You should have asked them for extra lettuce instead. 😀

  3. dawnmarie- I’m glad I’m not the only one.

    Vegas- See, a breadstick or biscuit would SO much more sense!

    Caryn- No doubt. It’s not like I needed the bread, but sheesh. I hardly needed the extra dressing either! In fact, minus croutons, there’s less to dress!

  4. That is weird. Those mall fast-food workers have some weird ideas. I would have demanded extra salad with my extra dressing!

    Another yummy lower carb fast food item is taco salad. Yum.

Leave a Reply

