I Wanna Have Boobies

My friend sent me an instant message just a few minutes ago telling me that he’d just watched The Pussycat Dolls new video and he realized right then that they epitomized all that was wrong with America.

I immediately made my way over to YouTube and found the video to watch it myself. Seriously. It is a sad sad day when the chorus of a hit song, sung by young impressionable girls all over the nation- hell, the world- goes like this:

When I grow up
I wanna see the world
Drive nice cars
I wanna have groupies

You don’t see the problem? Go listen to the song. It doesn’t sound like that’s what they’re singing. I swear up and down that the last line there is, “I wanna have boobies.” A quick search of the internet, including the message board on the Pussycat Dolls’ own website, shows that I’m not the only one hearing these lyrics wrong.

I don’t care what they say. They’re singing that they want to have boobies when they grow up and that’s just wrong. Hmph.

17 thoughts on “I Wanna Have Boobies

  1. Gosh! I’m sure I never even thought about wanting to have boobies when I was a kid lol. In fact, by the age of 12, I was desperate to get rid of them!

    I haven’t seen the new Pussycat Dolls new video yet though. I think maybe it’s about time I went for a Youtube Search.

  2. 2 realities that it takes people forever to realize while they’re growing up (and some never do): 1. Being your own person is possible; you don’t have to follow the herd. 2. There’s plenty of time in life to have boobies, periods, hair, and other physical aspects of adulthood; don’t rush it.

    C’est la vie about the video — it’s just another in a long line of unrealities perpetuated by various mass medias. I hate it, but apparently it sells.

  3. Dawn – Well, they don’t ACTUALLY say it (supposedly), but I swear they do. I really wanted breasts until I got them and then it was such hell that I wondered why I ever wanted them in the first place!

    Nathan – Yup, it’s only after you’re an adult and realize how much you hate it, that you wonder why you were in such a rush to get there.

  4. I thought that exact same thing when I first heard the song. And speaking as someone who did not have boobies until I was almost seventeen and then BAM! got way too much…boobies are highly overrated.

  5. Hey, Lady!!! I haven’t been to your site in a long while! I agree, it sounds like boobies…in fact, I just blogged about it, so it is funny how this is the first post that I read when re-visiting your website!

  6. Vegas – I made my husband listen to it and he heard the lyrics right so I was beginning to think it was just me that misheard it. Glad I wasn’t! And yes, they are highly overrated.

    H – Hello! That’s too funny that you just blogged about it, too.

  7. There’s nothing wrong with “boobies” in the song, after all, they’re just a part of life. Now, if they said “i wanna be a prostitute” that’d be different

  8. Marissa – Hey, if people want to have boobies, that’s fine by me. I just think that on the scale of things of import of things to encourage young listeners to want? Boobies shouldn’t make the chorus. Which, of course, it doesn’t- it just sounds like it.

  9. I always wanted to have boobies when I was little and thought about myself “growing up.” That misheard line was actually one of the reasons I liked the song so much…haha, just thought it was SO true! :p

  10. I swore it too, and thats why I loved the song so much, then my sons like, nah its groupies, and I say Bull, so he starts bringing it up on the net to prove me wrong, so I have to go O K, but its definetely like other songs like Rock the Casbah, where it doesn’t sound like Rock’s being said. Anyway I still like it.

Leave a Reply

