Angel Of Mine

There’s a line of figurines that I discovered about two years that I completely and totally adore. The line is called WillowTree and it’s created by Susan Lordi. She has a series of statues that are essentially carved relationships and they are so beautiful they almost make me weep. No exaggeration here.

Twenty-one months ago, to the day even, my good friend gave birth to her beautiful son. At her baby shower, I gave her Cherish. For her first Christmas at home with the new baby, I gave her New Life. I stopped giving them after that because I don’t think she loves them quite as much as I do, but every time I pass a Hallmark, I find myself going in and checking out what’s new from the artist.

This past Sunday my mother-in-law threw a meet the baby party for my husband’s extended family. They all came bearing gifts and Derek’s aunt, bless her beautiful heart, got me a WillowTree figurine without even knowing how much I love them. I could have cried when I opened up Angel Of Mine. I was checking around the WillowTree site today and I found what the artist had to say about Angel Of Mine and it only served to make me love the piece even more.

This piece is inspired by the memory of holding my children when they were really tiny – holding them so close that it involves all of your senses – the scent of the fuzzy head against your cheek – the skin-to-skin warmth – the realization that you can love another being so very, very much. I wanted to capture that sensory memory that every mother has from when she held her newborn infant – an innermost quiet joy. The sentiment has a lullaby feel to it. I think this is one of my best pieces because the composition, the form as a whole, is strong from all viewpoints.

I hope to continue collecting these as my daughter grows. There are so many that are so relevant to the different stages of a mother/daughter relationship like this one and this one. There are also some beautiful ones to demonstrate love for a partner. Like this one which is one of my absolute favorites.

Next time you’re in a Hallmark, go check out WillowTree. Let me know what you think.

**Totally not asked by anyone to pimp this line- I just love it.

10 thoughts on “Angel Of Mine

  1. We have one of these, and I don’t know the name (it’s not in front of me right now), but it’s a standing couple holding a new baby. I can’t find it on the website, so I assume it’s probably discontinued.

    I like it…it’s sweet. I wouldn’t want 50 of them, I think that would distract from their appeal, but that one is very meaningful to us.

    They always remind me of StoryPeople.

  2. My friend gave me one of these a few years ago when I was her Personal Attendant in her wedding. I didn’t really think about the beauty of it at the time, but reading your post made me think about it. I really like “Angel of Mine,” but I LOVE “Promise.” Whew, that one gave me chills actually. I just may have to find myself with that after Bil gets here.

  3. You know, my mother-in-law LOVES that line too. I never knew who did it, but she has several pieces decorating her living room. The sentiment you listed about Angel of Mine is so sweet! It brings a new level to all of the pieces. I just thought they looked like an unsanded woodshop project! Hah.

  4. Nathan – I like that one, too. The one that you have. I’m too lazy to go look up the name right now. There’s about ten of them that I want. Maybe eight. You’re right- too many and they’d lose their appeal. I wonder if eight would be too many of them. Hmm.

    Toni – Isn’t Promise beautiful? It’s my favorite. It’s just so… romantic.

    Erin – They are pretty! I can see how they’d look like unsanded woodshop projects, though…

  5. I have long loved their figurines as well, and my brother and his wife bought some to decorate at their wedding (one year ago tomorrow). Congratulations on the gift! I be they’ll remember how much you loved it for future presents, too. If you’re lucky. πŸ˜‰

  6. I LOVE those. A couple years ago I started giving them to special women in my life. My kids’ babysitter, my mom, my sister in law, my best friend, they are SO beautiful!
    I wish I could go back in time and collect them for phases I have already passed. Do you think it would still count if I started buying them for myself? πŸ™‚

  7. Caryn – I hope they remember! I’d love to see more of them!

    Jenny – I considered buying them for myself, too. There’s just something about receiving them as a gift, though…

Leave a Reply

