I Can't Sleep, So This Is What You Get

Ah, it’s a damn good thing I didn’t try to do NaBloPoMo because dude, seriously, I’d have failed on day one. Kinda like I’m brutally failing NaNoWriMo. I’m supposed to have 50,000 words by midnight on November 30th. I currently have 2,000. That means that I’d have to write more than 7,000 words a day between now and the 30th and that includes an entire day in plane travel (I leave on Sunday to go visit my parents in Idaho), Thanksgiving, and two days spent driving from Boise to Eugene to pick up my stepsister from college. Somehow, I don’t see me hitting 50K.

There’s a police helicopter circling my neighborhood with its spotlight on. Oh, how I love living in the ghetto. Seriously. THE GHETTO.

Christmas is starting to annoy me. I think a lot of the fun has come out of it. I’m asked every year to give out Christmas lists and I get what’s on the list, but… there’s no surprise. My MIL this year has asked for a crock-pot and has even given us the brand name that she wants. That’s great, I don’t have any other ideas for what to get her, but what’s the fun in unwrapping a gift if you already know what it is? Meh.

I have a post in my drafts, an idea stolen from another blog, of 27 things to do before I turn 28. I’m kinda thinking that maybe just writing out 27 things will be a success at this point. I have NOTHING on the list. I also have a draft full of links, half of which are now irrelevant because I’ve taken so long to add to it and haven’t published it yet.

I posted a long long time ago about Wii Fit. I never posted that I finally got it about two months ago. Love it. Love love love it. My only gripe is that the exercises are so short. I’m hoping that they put out some aerobic games to use with the board. I’d so buy an entire game of step-aerobics or rhythmic boxing or hula hooping. Because seriously? I look like a jackass when I hula hoop, but I’m a jackass that is having a blast.

I should be reading right now. I’m still reading the same books that I was reading last time I posted about books and that was, erm, a long time ago. I’m a slacker.

I’ve had a lot of random thoughts through my head lately. Like, how long can a helicopter stay up in the air before they have to come down to gas up? What is the life span of a cow? I know. Random.

Do you watch Survivor? Did you see tonight’s episode? I’m not going to put any spoilers here, but no guaranteeing that there won’t be any in the comments. Holy awesome! I haven’t laughed that hard at a TV show in a long time. Best Survivor episode EVER.

I think maybe I shall try to go back to sleep now. Just because I’m up past midnight doesn’t mean that The Ana will sleep in later. Speaking of The Ana, she rolled over for the first time on Monday! Yahoo! I’ve copied Dooce and am writing her letters for each month, but I’m not posting them here. If you’re interested, you can check them out over here.

Th-th-that’s all folks.

12 thoughts on “I Can't Sleep, So This Is What You Get

  1. I did NaNoWriMo last year when I was on maternity leave. 1000 words and I’ve only added 200 to that in the year since. I should quit calling myself a writer.

    I agree with you about Christmas. My sisters and I stopped doing a gift exchange a few years ago (but we still buy for the kiddos). All it was was a circle of phone calls: “What does your husband need?” “Do you know what Tracy wants?” Ugh. Of course, now I get 4 phone calls asking what to get Claire and Joe. “Here’s the deal, Girls. I don’t buy my kids random toys. Unless it’s their birthday or Christmas, I don’t just buy them toys – and even if it is their birthday or Christmas, they’re more likely to get books (or MP3 players). Buy them what YOU think they would like, just use your head. That’s what I do with your kids.” Sooo frustrating.

    That is so cute that you are writing letters to your daughter.

  2. OOh yes the joy of living where you live, I understand!

    I think it’s great that you’re writing letters to your daughter, that’s something that she’ll be able to cherish for life and she’ll also be able to see how much you loved her right from the start.

    Good luck with the Christmas shopping! I’m lucky cause my future in-laws don’t give presents to each other and my family has descided not to do presents either (I’ll be posting about that soon)so I’ve got next to no shopping to do!

  3. I hate Christmas. I really just can’t stand it anymore. It’s too much money, too many problems, too much predictability, too many fights. It always completely slays us for money and we end up arguing about what to get people that have no originality, don’t need anything, or could give a shit. 90% of our gift-giving is because we HAVE to, not because we want to.

    Ugh. Let’s bypass it. Honestly.

    I hear you on the writing. I don’t do silly goals like NaBlaPloMoGoFoMoDo or whatever, simply because I know as soon as I set myself up the perfect environment, something will come along to ruin it. For instance, this week I’ve gotten 4-4.5 hours sleep per night since Keston is sick and I’ve got a cold now, too. So that’s completely screwed me up for anything productive. I can’t even THINK straight, let alone write productively.

  4. Hehe, lived in the ghetto. I know how that is… Yikes, much.

    Um, aside from that I really want to try this Wii Fit. Everyone I know is so hyped about it but noone in my city that I’m friends with seems to have one. They’re all PS3 people. I think this means I’ll have to add it to my christmas list…

  5. Hey, I have 2000 words for NaNoWriMo too! We can be FAIL buddies!

    I have to admit I loved Survivor last night (especially the manner in which Crystal voted), but maaaan, that was so mean and unnecessary. Not that it was undeserved, but still. I feel a little bad about how much I enjoyed it.

  6. What in the heck is NaNoWriMo??? I have been racking my brain and I just can’t figure it out.I think you should put something surprising in the crockpot – that would totally make it exciting: jack in the box, dancing hamster toy, kama sutra book… the possibilities are endless. Crockpots are so boring with nothing inside.
    I love the idea of writing letters to your baby. Very sweet.

  7. In the midst of my crazy sickness, I watched that Survivor episode last night. I haven’t seen any of this season’s episodes, and I have to say, it didn’t matter. That was AWESOME!

    I love the Wii Fit too! The hula-hooping is a blast!

  8. I haven’t watched Survivor yet but I sure as heck am going home right away and watching it tonight.

    I do the same thing with draft posts in my blog. And then they become obsolete. I need to get on things a lot quicker. Because man, I have missed osme great blogging opportunities. 🙂

  9. Wow! All that randomness condensed into one post. I hardly know where to begin — or end — so I’ll simply go with this: Sorry to hear about NaNoWriMo. Maybe next year. You’re not exactly in an ideal situation for it right now anyway. As for your draft post, I do the same thing. I probably have fifty half-posts saved by now. I can’t bear to delete them, and I never think of what to say to finish them.

  10. First, Nanowrimo= National Novel Writing Month, the whole month of November, 50,000 words is the goal.

    Second, Survivor. Oh, man! I loved it. Sugar and Bob have been so underestimated (I did it myself) that it was even sweeter. Randy totally deserved it.
    One of the Survivor moments that will live in history along with: The original winner walking around in the nude, the guy who fell into the campfire, the one who lied about his grandmother’s death. Hm, that’s all I can think of right now. But this is definitely a keeper.

  11. Hi Courtney! I found your blog through Caryn’s :). I LOVE that you wrote letters to your daughter! I did a bit of that when my son was a baby, too. And the random thought about the life span of a cow made me LOL!

Leave a Reply

