I Am

I am a woman, mother, wife, reader, writer, lover.

I want more hours in the day to do all that I want to do.

I wish for peace of mind and financial security.

I hate feeling like my life is in limbo.

I miss my distant friends and my family.

I fear mediocrity.

I hear bumping beats on my stereo to get me through my day.

I wonder when things will start to make sense again.

I regret the ice cream that I had after dinner last night. Guilt guilt guilt.

I am not ready to settle.

I dance with my baby in my arms.

I sing loudly and badly, but Ana doesn’t mind if I’m off-key.

I cry more frequently than I like to admit.

I am not always sunshine and roses.

I make with my hands scrapbooks when I find the time.

I write to calm my mind, to stay sane.

I confuse affect and effect.

I need a break.

I should relax and try not to be such a stress-case all of the time.

I start many projects that I never wind up finishing. (See above re: scrapbooking.)

I finish every book that I start to read – even if it’s very very bad.

I love fiercely and without reservation.

8 thoughts on “I Am

  1. You are the bestest friend a girl could ever ask for… even if you’re not all rainbows and sunshine all the time (because really? I am, and that would be annoying! HA!). I am going to miss you terribly, and I can’t wait to see you tomorrow.

    Hug that little lady for me… very, very tightly… and the hubby too… I GUESS.

  2. I can relate to much of what you’ve written there. But don’t feel guilty about the ice cream. First of all, a therapist once told me guilt is a completely worthless emotion, and I tend to agree with her. Second, ice cream itself isn’t bad, it just needs to be eaten in smaller quantities than we would prefer.

  3. I hate to admit it because it sounds like I am someone who lives in the past…but I miss high school. And not because it was great, but because I had a group of girls that I loved immensely. And now I don’t have that anymore. I mean, I do, but I don’t. It’s wierd and sad and I miss it.

    So, there ya go. I just wanted to say that. I miss you, kiddo.

    -k

  4. This has to be my most favorite meme and I have’t done it myself yet. 🙂 Might have to steal it.

    I used to finish every book I started, but then I realized there were so many other better books out there that I wanted to read. Thus the 100 page rule was put into effect.

    And I bet your voice is music to Ana’s ears. 🙂

    This post was real and all you and I loved it!

Leave a Reply

