The Best Life

This post is a contribution to Nathan’s fabulous blog-off. Visit the link for the rest of the participants and further information. A portion of the proceeds are being contributed to The March Of Dimes, an oh-so-worthy charity.

It’s no surprise to many of my readers that I’ve been struggling lately. I’m unhappy about my return to work after a year off to enjoy being a new mother, I’ve been ill, my marriage is on shaky grounds (oh wait, did I not mention that previously?) and we’re facing financial devastation. We just listed our condo for sale and it looks like we may be taking a loss on it. This? This is not my version of The Best Life.

This past weekend, for the Fourth of July holiday, I was actually able to let go of all of that and really enjoy myself. I cherished the last few days of my freedom before my return to work, my best friend’s last few days of pregnancy (she delivers via c-section tomorrow morning!) and I relished in the sunshine and the heat of the summer. I let myself be yanked behind a boat on an inflatable tube and I let go and happily spun through the air into the cool lake water. I came up gasping for air and grinning. I came home bruised and proud and happy.

The thing is, sometimes life is shit. It’s just the way it goes. Right now my life is not all peaches and cream, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles. In the midst of all that dung, there’s still the potential for fun and for smiles. I have this amazingly beautiful and smart baby and she’s sunshine and giggles every day. So maybe this IS The Best Life. Maybe if we can just peer around the yuckiness and duck the flying crap, we can always remember where the roses are.

My life may not be where I’d like it to be, but you know what? It’s a damn good life.

17 thoughts on “The Best Life

  1. Hey there- I’ve been missing you. Not that I’ve been blogging but, I just have been thinking about you. Sorry to hear that things are not going totally your way right now. It sounds like you’ve got some big stuff to deal with. You will get through it…

    I’m glad you were able to enjoy a fun weekend and forget all of the bad stuff if only for a moment. Those moments can be so grounding.

    Going back to work is tough. If you need anyone to talk to, just email me. The one thing I can say is that you might find that you enjoy working and having a little break from the constant demands of motherhood. You can still be a wonderful Momma and work outside your home, too. Don’t let anyone tell you different. Give yourself time to adjust to juggling both work and bebe (and everything else, ha!). Good luck!

  2. I really like what you’ve said here. You sound like me when I’m speaking to someone in real life. I tend to be different when I post on my blog. Hang in there, being a mother is a damn tough job, especially when you have to work on top of it. From the sound of things, you are more than qualified to do it, and very well too.

  3. Isn’t the joy that a child can bring into your life amazing?

    I am sorry that things are not going well. I don’t know if you are a person who would like or sometimes needs prayer but I will lift you up in prayer if that’s something you would like.

    I hope that things do turn around for you in many ways, I look forward to get to know you better through this blog-off.

  4. I am so proud of you for your positive attitude – looking around to see how blessed you are. Every day is a gift, even the sucky ones. I’m so sorry life is clobbering you right now. I am hoping that you will have much better days very soon, chin up young person. : )

  5. Oh, hon, I’m so sorry that things are not going well for you right now. You deserve so much more. But I’m thrilled that you had a great weekend and that you and your daughter are so happy together. That you *do* deserve.

  6. This is so great. It is really hard to look at things that way sometimes, but honestly, isn’t it always something? Yours are big somethings, but you will be OK, you really will. A person could spend her whole life waiting for the good stuff to start (GUILTY!) instead of realizing a lot of it is already there. it might be hiding a little, but it’s there.

  7. Courtney, honey, I’m sorry that life is sometimes crap. You’ve got the right end of the stick, though, since you recognize that you and Ana make each others’ lives so much happier. I’m praying that things will ease up, and I know you’ll make it through this.
    Just lay it out there – and until things look up, remember the feeling of hurtling over those waves.

  8. I love your honesty. I wish I could open up more on my blog. I have to hold back sometimes.

    Glad you had a great weekend. Sounds like you have lots of blessings to keep your days sunny!

  9. We’ve kept up through a lot of the past bits where it’s been less-than-pleasant and I’ve always appreciated your stark honesty and real-ness and this post was no less than 100% genuine Courtney, the one we all love and admire.

    I wish it wasn’t as hard as it is right now, in all aspects. That’s one thing I know, that although I know for everyone there’s times of trouble, sometimes huge trouble, before the climb out into the sunlight, I hate to see it when friends are going through it and loathing it.

    Here’s hoping the other side of the marsh is nearer than you think and sunnier than you anticipate. We’ll be here, and we’ll be watching and hoping for the best.

  10. Court,I will send you a private message…but before I forget – are you saying Jacquee had another babe? Or is this another friend?

    Curious as hell,
    me

  11. Pingback: Blog-Off for Babies Week 2 Topic — PhilosYphia

  12. Looking past all the crap to see what is beautiful in your life is always hard to do. I am so proud of you for doing it! I am sorry to hear about your troubles, but your attitude is the right way to deal with them. POsitivity does help. It helped me get over my difficulties at work and feel better about myself. If there is anything I can do, be a shoulder to vent to, please email me and vent away. 🙂

  13. It’s so important to keep smiling. Just keep at it. Even if things don’t look very promising around you as long as you have your family, your gorgeous baby and a positive attitude you’ll be able to get through it. I am not saying it will be easy but as long as you’re all healthy and smiling you will make it!

    I hope work isn’t too bad! Thinking of you. xx

  14. You hit the nail on the head – that’s exactly what we have to do: accept all of the crap that comes with everyday life and still find something to smile about. As tough as it can be, it’s so important to always focus on the positive! Remember, things could be worse (and if they were, you’d still be able to get through them)!

Leave a Reply

