Year In Review. Sorta.

January – I had a cold. I tried to get some immigration stuff for my daughter done. (I never finished that, by the way. I should do that.) I got my heart trampled on. I got a confirmed diagnosis of type 2 diabetes.

February – I bought tickets to go to Mexico for a wedding. I reflected on my grandmother’s deterioration into dementia and alzheimer’s. Ana takes on solid foods.

March – I took on the dentist and I think I won. Maybe. Except he took my teeth so he probably actually wins. Damnit. I contemplated my weight and what I needed to do about it. I had my four-year blogiversary and my six year wedding anniversary.

April – I saw Britney Spears walk off the stage in Vancouver. I got really sick. I had more wisdom teeth pulled. I tried to name my car. No name has really stuck.

May – I had my first run-in with kidney stones. I went to Mexico and had a mostly good time and would have had a great time if my poor kid wasn’t so sick that I was scared I was going to have to take an emergency flight home the whole time. Oh, and I broke my toe in Mexico, too. The wedding in Mexico was gorgeous. A tax error was discovered and I suddenly owed the Canadian government 2K. A gas station attendant asked me if I was having a boy or a girl. Yeah. Not pregnant. May was not so fun.

June – I discovered World of Warcraft and have been hooked ever since. Wow, I think that’s all I did in June. No pun intended. (Get it? Wow. WoW. Haha. i’m so funny.)

July – The fourth with my girls! It was the best. I love spending the fourth with my friends at the lake. My girlfriend had her baby daughter and she was and is beautiful. I went back to work after my year off for maternity leave.

August – We sold our condo. I gave notice at my hated job without a new job lined up. The stress of that move! Sheesh! My daughter turned a year old. Holy bajeez, I have a one year old.

September – I started a new job that I was offered the day before my last day at the old one. Phew. Except that three weeks later they announced lay-offs. Say what? I was hired by my sister-in-law so now I have two jobs with limited hours. My grandmother was diagnosed with late stage cancer.

October – My car got broken into. My grandmother got put into the hospital with a very limited time to live. My daughter got really sick and scared me with a high fever, but it turned out she was just fine. My daughter was the cutest little ladybug for Halloween.

November – I actually started off NaNoWriMo doing awesome. I didn’t even come close to hitting 50K words, but I still feel proud of the almost 10K that I did write and I hope to continue writing more. My grandmother died.

December – Ah, my month of no posts. We got a new iMac. My dad was diagnosed with cancer. I’m freaking out. I’m freaking THE FUCK out, people. And if you know me on Facebook, don’t say anything there, I don’t think he’s told everybody yet… he has surgery in a few weeks to remove it… it looks like it’s all early stage stuff right now, it was caught on accident, but have I mentioned that I’m freaking the fuck out? My “main” job announced a second round of lay-offs.

Overall, I’m glad that I barely blogged because I don’t know how much more depressing this blog can get. I’m tired. I’m depressed. I’m scared. I just want 2010 to be better. It has to be better, right?

9 thoughts on “Year In Review. Sorta.

  1. I’m crossing my fingers for a better year, too. I had the shittiest end to a pretty shitty year, myself. I thought about you a lot, actually, to help me through. Somehow, having company during misery helps me out. December brought- a lost job and a miscarriage for me. Yay. Here’s to hoping for better days, my friend. xo.

  2. It WILL be better. We’ll make it so. =) And really, you should look at that list as the number of things that tried to take you down, but that you bested. Because you’re a survivor and you aren’t gunna give up. I’ll let Beyonce tell you the rest. 😉

  3. I hear you — a friend of mine remarked the other day, “Gosh, 2009 has just FLOWN by, hasn’t it?” and I gave him this steely look and said, “No. I can’t wait for 2010, because ANYTHING has to be better than THIS.”

    Then again, he has infinite amounts of money, a relaxing, decent job, and few worries. Must be nice.

    Myself, 2009 was a year of struggles and I’m glad to be rid of it. I can only hope that 2010 is the year we turn around our finances, family, and get ourselves on a better road to feeling whole and happy.

    And I wish the same for you and yours, Courtney. Many good thoughts and love from all of us. Let us know if you need anything.

  4. I am hoping 2010 is better for both of us since I have had a similarly bad year. Seems to be the consensus for 2009. I hope things turn around for you soon and I will be praying for your Dad.

Leave a Reply

