When I Think Of My Grandma

… I think about the old jelly bean dispenser always full and ready for the grandkids on the counter.

… I remember the delicious turkey sandwiches from the day after Thanksgiving.

…. I hear her laughing as her grandkids slid, bumping and giggling, down the blue carpeted stairs over and over again.

… I see books stacked all over the rainbow room – read, in progress and waiting to be cracked.

… I visualize her white hair always perfectly styled.

… her giant grin and her open arms – eager to give us hugs when we showed up for visits.

… I think of how sad I’m going to be when I get the inevitable call that she’s gone.

My grandmother is in a coma and isn’t going to make it much longer. I’m sad. I’m going to miss her.

7 thoughts on “When I Think Of My Grandma

  1. Nothing like bittersweet memories, eh? At my grandmother’s funeral a few months back, I reflected on the same sort of memories I had of her, too. Somewhat thankfully, I suppose, my grandmother had been declining so long that a few years ago she ceased being what I remember, so when she was finally gone, the pain wasn’t as bad because in many ways, she had been dying for a long time, and this was just the final end.

    I hope you always hold onto those memories tightly, as that’s the best tribute to the wonderful grandmother she was.

  2. I’m so sorry that you are going through this. The best we can do is remember and honor who they were. You are obviously better for having known her. I’ll be thinking about you.

  3. I’m so sorry this is happening for you … My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    On a side note, please contact me on Gazoonies … I’ve been getting some strange IM’s from your Yahoo account.

  4. Dear Courtney, I’m sad to hear of more struggles ahead for you. I will keep you in my prayers. May your happy memories and your family help you through this. *hugs*

  5. Pingback: Xbox Kinect Bundle Deals At Tesco

Leave a Reply

