Pride

Have you ever done something that you feel phenomenally proud of? Walking in the Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure does that for me.

When I walk, I feel like I’m actually making a difference. I feel like I am potentially saving someone’s life with each step that I take and when I’m walking 60 miles over a mere three days? That’s a lot of steps.

Losing my mom to breast cancer was, and continues to be, the most difficult thing that I have ever had to face in my lifetime. I do not wish that experience on anyone. I watched my mother go from a vibrant powerful woman, to one who couldn’t get out of bed. My heart breaks every day with missing her.

Please help me make sure that my daughter never experiences the same thing that I did. Save my life. Save yours. Save hers. Do something to be proud of. Help me by making a donation.

In order to walk, I need to raise a minimum of $2300. Can you donate $25?

Help me reach my goal for the Susan G. Komen Seattle 3-Day for the Cure!
3 thoughts on “Pride

  1. Hi Courtney,

    I came across your blog while I was doing some research on the Susan G. Komen 3 Day for the Cure. I’m contacting you to let you know about a new website called breastalliance.org. It’s a central location where several for profit websites can get the word out about their efforts to help the fight against breast cancer. None of the websites involved are really big enough to afford their own PR agency, so this “alliance” allows them to pool their resources and spend more money on donating to good causes. Our general philosophy is not just to donate to the fight against breast cancer, but to do so in a way that gets others involved.

    I’m mostly contacting you to ask your permission to add you to our mailing list, but I thought you might be interested in the first website to take a step toward our mission. Allplussizebras.com is looking to sponsor a walker in an upcoming Breast Cancer 3 day event. They’re asking people to signup now and they’ll decide on finalists at the end of this month. The public will then vote on the winner of the $250 donation during the month of September. You can get more information by visiting the News link at breastalliance.org.

    As for our mailing list, it’s run through a third party provider (Mad Mimi) and you can unsubscribe at any time. Emails will be fairly infrequent (rarely more than one every other week). Just let me know if I can add you, or visit http://www.breastalliance.org and sign up yourself. If the email list is too invasive, you can get the same information by following breastalliance on Twitter or becoming a fan of the Breast Alliance at Facebook. All options are available at breastalliance.org.

    Thanks for your time, Courtney. I know this probably isn’t the best way to contact you, but I couldn’t find an email address or a contact form (the link to your about page is broken, by the way). I wish you the best of luck with your continued fund-raising and I hope you’ll help us spread the word.

    Brian Darrow
    The Breast Alliance
    brian@breastalliance.org

Leave a Reply

