Time Management Skills – I Need Them

It is a frequent complaint of mine that there are not enough hours in the day. There is, quite simply, too much that I want to accomplish, and not enough free time to do it. And yet, other people manage to do it and to do even more than me. This brings me to the only reasonable conclusion: I need to work on my time management skills. 

I know one of my biggest problems is the internet. I get sucked into my little game on Facebook and into Pinterest and lose hours. Now, I don’t want to give those up completely. I am working on embracing the things in my life that make me happy. If playing Bingo on Facebook makes me happy, then I’m going to do it without guilt. However, I should probably moderate how much time I spend doing that in able to do the other things that I’d also like to do. 

I would love to learn how to knit and/or crochet. I want to learn how to quilt. I want to get back to going to the gym (this is more an issue of childcare than it is time, but it’s there nonetheless). I’d like to cross-stitch more. I always want to read more and I always want to write more. 

How do people maintain full time jobs, parent, and still have time for themselves to do all that they want to do? Is it actually feasible? 

Example Of My Day: 

6:00-7:00 – Get up and get ready for work.

7:00-8:00 – Drive to work.

8:00-4:30 – Work.

4:30 – 6:00 – Commute home, pick-up from daycare. 

6:00 – 7:00 – Dinner prep and eat.

7:00 – 9:00 – Free time

9:00 – 10:00 – Bath and kidlet in bed (I know, it’s late for a kid, don’t judge.)

10:00 – 11:00 – Free time if I haven’t fallen asleep in the process of putting Ana to bed. 

11:00 – 6:00 – Sleep 

There’s just not an awful lot of time in there. Now also consider that I’m expected to be studying 22 hours a week to finish my course and… well… no wonder I feel like I have no time to do anything relaxing or fun! 

Something’s going to have to give. 

Leave a Reply

