20 Questions For A New Year

I’ve been wanting to write a year wrap-up post, but hadn’t figured out what exactly I wanted to say or how I wanted to say it and then my lovely friend Carly posted this fabulous set of questions to reflect on 2013. Perfect.

1. What was the single best thing that happened this past year?

I will be taunted for the cheesiness of this answer, but meeting my partner, Jeremy, has been a pretty awesome thing of 2013.

2. What was the single most challenging thing that happened?

I had to put my cat down in January and that sucked. If I have to pick a single event, I’ll go with that. Other challenges were less of a single thing.

3. What was an unexpected joy this past year?

Rediscovering my independence. Going out and doing things solo that I never would have done before.

4. What was an unexpected obstacle?

I don’t know that it was necessarily unexpected, but money has been more of a struggle than I had hoped. I was good until mid-summer and then it’s been scaling a mountain unharnessed since then.

5. Pick three words to describe this past year.

Growth, pleasure, struggle.

6. Pick three words your spouse (boyfriend) would use to describe your year—don’t ask them; guess based on how you think they see you. 

Busy, studious, messy!

7. Pick three words your boyfriend would use to describe their year—again, without asking.

Tumultous, challenging, and I would hope he would also say good!

8. What were the best books you read this year?

I’m just gonna say John Green. I read my favorite of his books in 2012, but I read the rest of his stuff in 2013 and I like it all.

9. With whom were your most valuable relationships?

I think M and I bonded a lot over her pregnancy and we’ve also struggled with the different directions our lives have taken this year, but I think we’re better for it. Obviously my relationship with Jeremy since it began this year and we’re pretty darn close.

10. What was your biggest personal change from January to December of this past year?

Time management and money. I’m too busy and I have a hard time saying no when I should so my time and money were both stretched thinner than they should have been.

11. In what way(s) did you grow emotionally?

This was my first full year as a divorced/separated woman and I think that I really matured a lot. I got back out and dated a bit and met someone pretty awesome. I put down a pet and did it on my own and made it through that. I’m learning to try to ask for help when I need it and still try to maintain my sense of independence.

12. In what way(s) did you grow spiritually?

I don’t know that I have this year…

13. In what way(s) did you grow physically?

I lost a little bit more weight and for a while was doing good about running and exercising again, but that’s fallen apart again so I’ll need to get back on track. I had a health scare in April that, fortunately, turned out to be nothing.

14. In what way(s) did you grow in your relationships with others?

I made good strides towards sharing how I’m feeling and in asking for help when I need it. Always a work in progress, but I think I did better at those this year than ever before.

15. What was the most enjoyable part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

I have a lot of my own projects and I get more handed to me on a regular basis. I enjoy being able to work out my own tasks and my own work and staying on top of my projects. As far as school, I have been pretty pleased with my progress – I can hear a doctor read a report and remember when I could not understand any of what he was saying – now I can catch most of it.

16. What was the most challenging part of your work (both professionally and at home)?

The commute. God, the commute. I hate driving in to work. And for school, it’s back to my time management issues! Learning to prioritize my time better…

17. What was your single biggest time waster in your life this past year?

The internet. It’s always the internet.

18. What was the best way you used your time this past year?

With people. I didn’t hide myself away as much as I may have wanted to and I’ve spent a lot of time being social and out amongst people.

19. What was biggest thing you learned this past year?

I think I’ve learned this over the last 2 years, but that I can truly take on anything. It may suck and it may hurt and I may bleed, but I’ll come out the other side eventually.

20. Create a phrase or statement that describes this past year for you.

Not my own phrase, but one that I quite feel fits nicely:  “Who we are in the present includes who we were in the past.”   -Fred Rogers

 

Happy New Year!

Wishing everybody a wonderful 2014.

3 thoughts on “20 Questions For A New Year

  1. I love that you did this. I was thinking about the list of questions today and thinking that as much as I loved them, the only way to get me to actually go through them might be to blog about them. Lo and behold, you beat me to it. I hope you don’t mind that I may borrow your idea! 🙂

    As for your year, it sounds like it’s been a huge one for you and Megs and Mandi are right – you have tons to be proud of! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

